Urban Redevelopment Areas

The Urban Redevelopment Act (O.C.G.A. 36-61-1 et. seq.), or URA, was adopted in 1955 to give cities and counties in Georgia specific powers to rehabilitate, conserve, or redevelop any defined geographical area that is designated as a “slum area.” To exercise these powers, the City Council or County Commission must adopt a resolution finding that the area constitutes a “slum area” as defined by the Act, and that redevelopment of the area is “necessary in the interest of the public health, safety, morals, or welfare” of the residents of the jurisdiction. In addition to designating an “Urban Redevelopment Area” appropriate for redevelopment projects, the local government must adopt an Urban Redevelopment Plan for the target area and designate an entity to implement the plan. In Savannah, the Housing Authority, City of Savannah, and SDRA have the authority to implement URA plans.

Potential Urban Redevelopment Areas include:

  • Deteriorating or underutilized sections of downtowns
  • Brownfields
  • Old warehouse or industrial districts
  • Declining commercial corridors (grayfields)
  • Deteriorating neighborhoods
  • Mixed-use and neo-traditional developments
  • Substandard or obsolescent mobile-home parks
  • Neighborhoods that might be negatively affected by facilities such as airports or water treatment plants

For more information on the Urban Redevelopment Act and its use in Savannah, please download the “Adopted Urban Redevelopment Areas” PDF below or visit any one of the following webpages: